

SRI MUTHUKUMARAN MEDICAL COLLEGE HOSPITAL AND RESEARCH INSTITUTE

CHIKKARAYAPURAM, NEAR MANGADU, CHENNAI – 600069

PHARMACO THERAPEUTIC COMMITTEE

Chairperson: Dr Kasinathan B, Dean

Co-Chairperson: Dr Ganesan Muruga Perumal, Vice Principal

Co-ordinator: Dr Janagan, Professor, Pharmacology

Role of Co-ordinator: To conduct periodic committee meeting and to maintain committee related documents including Minutes of Meeting (MOM).

Terms for Reference: The members are appointed for a period of 4 years from date of 1st committee meeting. Members will be rotated or replaced after the completion of 4 years or any other members retire or resign during their tenure. This committee will function on monthly basis under the Chairperson and Coordinator. The Coordinator will be responsible for organizing the committee meeting and minutes recorded.

Frequency: Monthly once

Quorum: 50% of the members should be present for the Committee meeting

Roles & responsibilities:

- Develop and approve policies related to medication management
- Establish safe medication practices in the organization

- Develop and approve hospital formulary
- Issue guidelines for rational prescription of medication
- Develop mechanism for reporting and tracking of medication errors and adverse events related to medication
- Review indicators related to medication safety and take necessary decisions
- Monitor medication practices through audits such as prescription audit, pharmacy audit etc.
- Help Infection Control Committee in formulating antibiotic policy
- Monitor adverse drug reaction
- Other similar matters related to medication management

COMMITTEE MEMBERS:

S.NO	NAME	DESIGNATION
1.	Chairperson: Dr. Kasinathan B	Dean
2.	Co-Chairperson: Dr. Ganesan Muruga Perumal	Vice Principal
3.	Co-ordinator: Dr.Janagan	Professor, Pharmacology
4.	Dr. Mohanambal	Medical Superintendent
5.	Dr. Durairaj	Professor & HOD, Pharmacology
6.	Dr.Sukumar	Professor & HOD, General Medicine
7.	Dr G. Karunakaran	Professor & HOD, Paediatrics
8.	Dr. T.V.Asokan	Professor & HOD, Psychiatry
9.	Dr.P.Ramanujam	Professor & HOD, General Surgery
10.	Dr.K. Chandrasekaran	Professor, Orthopedics
11.	Dr.M.Sunitha	Professor & HOD, ENT
12.	Dr. Kumaravel	Professor & HOD, Ophthalmology

		<u>, </u>
13.	Dr. Radha Bai Prabhu	Professor & HOD, OBG
14.	Dr.Reyasudeen	Professor & HOD, Anesthesia
15.	Dr. Karpagam	Professor & HOD, Radiology
16.	Dr.Ragu Ganesh	Professor HOD, Dental
17.	Dr. K.Radha Raja Prabha	Associate Professor, Dermatology
18.	Dr. Gnanam	RMO
19.	Mrs. Karpagavalli	Pharmacy incharge
20.	Mrs. Thangamariammal	NS